Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Board Committees

Per policy of the Mecklenburg  Board of County Commissioners, the Board may maintain standing committees as determined by a majority vote of the Board. The Board may also establish non-standing (“ad-hoc”) committees as determined by a majority vote of the Board. Each committee includes 4 Commissioners, with one member serving as the Chair of the Committee. Members of each committee are appointed by the Chairman.

The Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners currently has three standing committees, the Health and Human Services Committee, Economic Development Committee, and the Intergovernmental Relations Committee and two ad-hoc committees, the Performance Review Committee (formerly the Compensation Committee) and the Audit Review Committee

Economic Development Committee 

Responsible for making recommendations that contribute to business and job growth in Mecklenburg County. 

Meets ​​1st Tuesday of every month 3:30-5:00 p.m.
and 3rd Tuesday of every month from 2:30-3:30p.m. 

Committee Chair: Matthew Ridenhour
Committee Members: Trevor M. Fuller, Jim Puckett, Pat Cotham
Staff Support: Leslie Johnson, Timmothy Tibbs

Health and Human Services Committee
Responsible for making recommendations to improve the health and well being of Mecklenburg County residents with emphasis on children, seniors and families. 

Meets ​​3rd Tuesday of every month 3:30-5:00 p.m.

Committee Chair: Pat Cotham
Committee Members: Ella Scarborough, Matthew Ridenhour, Dumont Clarke​
Staff Support: Anthony Trotman, Angela Simmons

Intergovernmental Committee
Responsible for helping to coordinate the intergovernmental relations between and among Mecklenburg County and all of the governing bodies operating within the County at the federal, state, and local levels. 

Meets ​​2nd Tuesday of every month 2:00-3:00 p.m.

Committee Chair: Trevor M. Fuller
Committee Members: Dumont Clarke​, Vilma Leake, Jim Puckett
Staff Support: Dena Diorio, Chris Peek

Performance Review Committee
Responsible for reviewing the performance of the County Manager.

Meets ​​annually.

Committee Chair: Vilma Leake 
Committee Members: Jim Puckett, Bill James, George Dunlap​
Staff Support: Chris Peek

Audit Review Committee
Responsible for reviewing and evaluating proposals from all firms that express an interest and make a recommendation for selection to the Board of County Commissioners. 

Meets ​​1st Tuesday 4 times a year 2:00-3:30 p.m.

Committee Chair: Bill James 
Committee Members: Pat Cotham, George Dunlap, Matthew Ridenhour
Public Member: Alex Vuchnich​
Staff Support: Mark Foster​


Mailing Address:

Charlotte Mecklenburg Government Center
600 East 4th Street
Charlotte, NC 28202

Office Location:

Charlotte Mecklenburg Government Center
600 East 4th Street
Charlotte NC 28202
Hours: Mon-Fri 8 a.m - 5 p.m.


County Commissioners