Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​No Fees for Credit and Debit Card Tax Payments During COVID-19 State of Emergency


To assist taxpayers during the COVID-19 state of emergency, Mecklenburg County will begin to absorb credit card and debit card service fees on March 23. No fee will be charged to the payer during the duration of the emergency when using a credit card or debit card to pay tax bills. Taxpayers may also pay their bills using electronic checks (eChecks) without a service fee.  Payments may be made online at or by calling 1-800-994-1026.

To speak to a collections representative, please email, dial 311 (704-336-7600 if dialing outside the county limits), or visit

The Office of the Tax Collector (OTC) closed its service point counter (located at the Valerie C. Woodard Center, 3205 Freedom Drive, Charlotte) to the public on March 18 to help reduce the spread of novel coronavirus (COVID-19) and to protect the community and staff.

A complete list of County services and facilities operating on reduced schedules is available here. The most updated information on COVID-19 in Mecklenburg County is available here.