Send an Email
View large version
Use the links to the left to learn more about individual statues
MISSION AND VISION
The Trail of History is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization formed in 2005 to recapture and preserve the significance of key people who contributed to the history, growth, and development of Mecklenburg County by erecting larger than life representative statues along the urban section of the Little Sugar Creek Greenway.
The Trail of History is a collection of privately-subsidized bronze sculptures, or similar permanent material, memorializing the men and women who shaped and defined the rich history of Charlotte-Mecklenburg. It is a long-term project involving the design, fundraising and construction of the sculptures. The Trail of History stretches through the urban piece of the Little Sugar Creek Greenway running from 7th Street at Central Piedmont Community College south to Morehead Street. The Little Sugar Creek Greenway Urban Section provides a unique opportunity for increasing community awareness of Mecklenburg County's history and culture through the integration of the proposed Trail of History sculptures. In return, the Trail of History will play an essential role in increasing community involvement with the greenway.
The first statue on The Trail of History is The Spirit of Mecklenburg, a larger than life statue of Captain James Jack, unveiled in 2010. Captain Jack has become a legendary figure in the annals of Charlotte-Mecklenburg history for his famous ride to Philadelphia carrying the Mecklenburg Declaration of Independence and a set of resolves to the 1775 meeting of the Continental Congress.
VISIT THE TRAIL OF HISTORY
The Trail of History is located near uptown Charlotte in Midtown and follows the Little Sugar Creek greenway and Kings Drive between 7th street and Morehead Street. A bike and walking path are available to navigate the trail.