Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​David B. Waymer Recreation & Senior Center

​​David B. Waymer Recreation Center 

(980) 314-1127
14008 Holbrooks Road
Huntersville, NC 28078


Hours of Operation:

  • Monday - Thursday: 9:00am to 8:30pm
  • Friday: 9:00am to 6:00pm
  • Saturday: 9:00am to 5:00pm
  • Sunday: 1:00pm to 5:00pm

Summer Hours of Operation (June 21 - Aug 26)
  • Monday-Thursday: 7:30am-7:30pm
  • Friday: 7:30am-5:30pm
  • Saturday: 9:00am-1:00pm
  • Sunday: Closed 


2022 Holidays - Facilities Closed

Good Friday - Friday, April 15

Easter Sunday - Sunday, April 17

Memorial Day - Monday, May 30

Juneteenth - Monday, June 20

Independence Day - Monday, July 4

Labor Day - Monday, September 5

Veterans Day - Friday, November 11

Thanksgiving Eve - Wednesday, November 23 (Close at 6pm)

Thanksgiving Day & Day After - Thursday, November 24 - Friday November 25

Christmas - Friday, December 23 - Tuesday, December 27


Click here to sign up for one of our many programs.

For more information or if you have questions, please email us at DavidBWaymerRecreationCenter@MecklenburgCountyNC.gov   


We look forward to seeing you soon at our recently renovated facility.  Check out these photos of our gymnasium before and after renovations!

Learn about community activist David B. Waymer, the center's namesake, in this documentary, narrated and produced by our very own Recreation Specialist, Isaac Moore.


Features and Amenities

  • Gymnasium / Stage
  • Multi-purpose Rooms
  • Mobile Computer Lab
  • Catering Kitchen

 

DSS Senior Nutrition Program
Seniors come together in a caring and supportive atmosphere for social, recreational and educational opportunities for ages 60+. Sessions include lunch daily, seminars, classes, field trips or special events. Meets Monday through Friday from 9am-2pm and visitors are welcomed. For more information, contact 980-314-1593.

PROGRESS PHOTOS OF THE FACILITY December 2019/January 2020

Waymer MP1.JPGWaymer MP 2.JPGWaymer Gym.JPGWaymer Side.JPG

​ June 5, 2020

IMG_1702 (003).jpg

Address

Office Location:

Mecklenburg County
Park and Recreation
5841 Brookshire Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28216

MAP

Hours: Mon-Fri  8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Contact

980-314-1000