Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​Elaine Powell, Vice Chair, District 1

 ​Elaine Powell serves as the Vice Chair of the Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners. She was elected to her first term in November 2018 by the people of District 1 in North Mecklenburg.

For the past 30 years, Commissioner Powell has been actively engaged in our community. She began volunteering in Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools (CMS) in 1989, starting out as a community partner at Eastway Middle School. She continued to serve in a variety of roles in CMS from 1989 until 2014.

Commissioner Powell is a long-time advocate for citizen engagement, environmental stewardship, public parks, public schools and public health.  Commissioner Powell seeks out citizen voices and believes that it is important to consider multiple points of view. She is eager to listen and collaborate with others to meet the needs of the community.

Commissioner Powell has been appointed to multiple advisory bodies in Mecklenburg County Government since 2001. She began on the Mecklenburg County Waste Management Advisory Board, where she served from 2001 until 2009. Commissioner Powell served as the Chair of the Mecklenburg County Park & Recreation Commission (PRC), and the Chair of the Natural Resources Stewardship Advisory Council from 2010 until 2018.

She resides in the Mountain Island Lake area with her husband, son and their miniature dachshund.

For the 2021 Board of County Commissioners, Vice Chair Powell has been appointed to be the Chair of the Environmental Stewardship Committee.


Office Location:

Charlotte Mecklenburg Government Center
600 East 4th Street
Charlotte NC 28202
Hours: Mon-Fri 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.


Clerk to the Board

close alertCounty services are operating at a limited capacity. Questions about COVID-19? Call Public Health Hotline: 980-314-9400